Beautified by a splendid twin arched window, the 50 metre, three floor tower was built in 1249 as the final element in the village’s defence walls. Between 1845 and 1934 it housed the police station, the military head of section offices and until 1861 the municipal girls school, then up to 1934, the town hall. The building currently showcases a work of art by the Ticino artist Alex Dorici as well as a panel comprising 45 coats of arms belonging to Morcote families who have died out; it is curated by the heraldry expert, Carlo Maspoli.
The information on this site, concerning services or products is provided by external partners. This Information is liable to change frequently; for this reason Lugano Region cannot be held liable for any inaccuracies.