Here you can find information and answers to frequently asked questions about the current coronavirus situation in Ticino.
The entertainment venues (cinemas, theatres, museums, youth centres, sports centres, fitness centres, swimming pools, wellness centres, ski lifts, boat tours, public parks, playgrounds, dog parks, discos, piano bars, night clubs) will remain closed until further notice, as established by the decree of 11 March 2020.
Events, exhibitions, shows and entertainment activities will therefore be subject to postponement and cancellation.
The municipality consists in a very varied kind of territory, going from the stunning summit of Mount Lema to the meanders of the Magliasina river.
The Church of Santo Stefano al Colle, whose belfry tower and choir date back to Romanic times, rises above the village in a strategic position. The inside of the building is decorated with frescoes dating to 1511 portraying the 12 apostles. Migliela is the place where the cableway to the top of Mount Lema departs. In just a few minutes one reaches the top, where it’s possible to enjoy one of Ticino’s most breath-taking views: on one side the lake of Lugano and on the other Lake Maggiore, the Alps, amongst which Mount Rosa may be made out. Just outside the village, on the road to Breno, the ancient village of Tortoglio used to rise: it was destroyed by the black plague in the 16th Century and it is remembered in an inscription and a frescoed votive chapel with a 16th Century painting of the Madonna.
The information on this site, concerning services or products is provided by external partners. This Information is liable to change frequently; for this reason Lugano Region cannot be held liable for any inaccuracies.
Attractions and culture
– The church of Santo Stefano al Colle, with its famous
– The Miglieglia castle ruins
– Blacksmiths of Malcantone
- Funivia del Monte Lema
Hikes and the classics
– Between sky and earth
– Path of wonder
– Chestnut tree trail
– Discovering the sundials of Malcantone
- The Crossing Monte Lema - Monte Tamaro
The forge was built by the Giuseppe Righetti family from Aranno in 1860. The forge produced iron tools like scythes, sickles, shovels, spades and hoes. In 1979 the “Malcantone Forge Foundation” was established and in 1992 restored the forge in order to preserve some local history for the future generations of Malcantone.
A journey of discovery in lower Malcantone. On the M. Faeta and down towards Astano on a forest road. It's well worth taking a break in the picturesque village centre and at the lake of the same name. Sections along roads in varied landscape to P. Cremenage. After P. Tresa alongside the River Tresa.